Is gaming a chore?

I’ve gotten out of gaming in the past and I’ve in the past often had periods during which I didn’t game though they were mostly down to not having a 360.

I got Skyrim on the PC [well, my laptop] since the week of its release and have not played it at all this year. In fact I can’t even remember the last time I did play it, but think it was after Christmas. I even took my laptop to Germany with me hoping I would be able to play some there which, but, thanks to a mixup with travel plugs, I couldn’t.

I have nothing to blame at the moment – I have the time and I have the means right here as I’m typing this post on my laptop. Yet at the same time I’ve had a long day of shopping and getting a haircut and time at my friend’s house that all I want to do is eat the white chocolate brownie I bought from Workhouse Coffee and have some Kindle time in bed.

In the past I blamed having incompatible hobbies, such as knitting and reading [though that’s slowly starting to work together with the Kindle], but I can just as well play Skyrim from bed as the desk is next to my bed and I’m playing it with a 360 controller anyway. It’s not even that I don’t like Skyrim – I think it’s probably one of the best games I’ve ever played and every time I’ve played it has been rewarding and brilliant.

So why does it feel like a chore?

This entry was posted in Community and Games, Kindle, Skyrim - Elder Scrolls V, Travelling, Xbox360. Bookmark the permalink.

Want to leave me a lovely comment? Please do!