Everyone turning into stalkers?

Came across this during my more random internet travels. I use Google a lot. And I have used it to lookup people, find phonenumbers, addresses and such like.

Google anyones name and you can see heaps of information on them unless they’re blessed [cursed?] with a common name.

Is this the future? Everyone turning into stalkers?

Cat

This entry was posted in Funny Stuff, Google, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Everyone turning into stalkers?

  1. thebigman87 says:

    Depends what you mean by name.

    I typed my real name into google and apparently I’m a Post Graduate at a School of Politics in the US…Well without that being one hell of a commute I don’t think it’s me and my name isn’t common. So :P

    However my Alias is the top link but then again my alias is also my domain name so again….:P

    But I do think it is going down that road.

    Like

  2. Cat says:

    My alias brings up a lot plus some random cat food products! Haha.

    My name is pretty rare, there are no real hits off of it.

    But it is getting to the point that there is a lot of information. Just think how much people could find out about you by looking at all the sites you’re on.

    Like

  3. thebigman87 says:

    Or they could just go on my Site where it is all collected nicely for them…lol

    It doesn’t bother me to be honest there is little anything people can do with it, Tell me shit I already know. Try and Sell me stuff based on the Products I have, if anyone gets into a Conversation that even sounds like it’s remotely promotional or some sales crap…They are immediately told were to go. lol

    If people wanted to “track” me down it would be pretty easy to be honest, Domain Search anyone? Yea that’s what I thought, bring it on I have my Hurling Stick ready for anyone who wants a piece..:P

    Like

  4. Tob3z says:

    Good luck finding anything about me with my real name. You wont even get linked to my site.

    Just to let you know I have never had cancer and my mums not called Shauna. Can’t believe there is another person with the same first and last name as me.

    Like

  5. Sha says:

    Now that is scary,

    Like

  6. Cat says:

    Well, your name isn’t THAT rare I don’t think, Tob3z.

    Yeah, there is always the way of the domain. can’t track me through wp.com, bu definitely through other places.

    I’m not really too bothered, nothink links to my address, only a few trusted people on the net have my address.

    Like

  7. thebigman87 says:

    That’s not entirely true, when you do swaps online for Games people know your Address. Although I don’t you have much to worry about :P

    Like

  8. ish says:

    Ahahaha love the pic! Man how I could do with satellite photos of some of the hot chicks in my school :P

    Anyway I’ve tried searching myself. If you type “REAL NAME REMOVED”, the sixth result takes you to my blog. If you type “REAL NAME REMOVED”, the fourth result takes you to my blog, the fifth takes you to my facebook and the seventh takes you to my Last.FM account LOL. And if you type “REAL NAME REMOVED”, the first result is my Facebook profile, the second and third are my blog and the fourth is a news item about SOMETHING THAT’S BEEN REMOVED. LMAO I’m becoming like a public property. Hell where’s the privacy? :P

    Comment has been edidted to ensure the commenters privacy. Cat

    Like

  9. Cat says:

    Privacy’s long gone, Ish!

    Like

  10. ish says:

    I know I know :(

    Privacy was gone the day private sex tapes started doing rounds over the internet.

    Like

  11. Sha says:

    If you type Shani, you get nothing of mine up there, however if you type my full name, you first get my facebook profile then my blog.

    Like

  12. Cat says:

    Ewll, I got to a random site just now. Tagoon? Seems to e like a Technoati thing. How on Earth did they associate this blog with real name?

    Other wise my real name links to a few sites that don’t exist any more. Didn’t realise Google kept them cached for almost a year?

    Like

  13. ish says:

    Cat, just do me a favour and delete my 8th comment in which I’ve mentioned my name cause it’s showing up in the Google search results. Thanks. :)

    Like

  14. Cat says:

    I’ve edited your comment so there’s no reference. If that’s not enough, let me know. :)

    Like

  15. ish says:

    Yep, that works. Thank you. :)

    Like

  16. Cat says:

    No worries. :)

    If it makes you feel any better I’ve never seen anyone searching for you.

    Like

  17. Ashish says:

    If it makes you feel any better I’ve never seen anyone searching for you.
    Don’t count on it, there have been searches ranging from ish tea to ishmeet stripping! lol. Though the rather hot search seems to be Sha’s full name! :D

    Like

  18. Cat says:

    Yeah, but I look through my searches and there haven’t been any for anyone apart from myself.

    Soo many people search for my Gamertag though…

    Like

  19. ish says:

    I know I’m not being searched for but it wasn’t a neat idea to mention my full name anywhere.

    Like

  20. Cat says:

    Yeah, I know what you mean. The name you used in that comment isn’t the same as your FB profile, is it?

    Like

  21. ish says:

    Nope, it isn’t. That one had my surname but the Facebook one has the surname which every Sikh uses, so it’s more anonymous. And I don’t think it would be much of a problem if someone sees my facebook profile until and unless through that they reach some friend who has a WordPress.com blog and then find me from there. But that’s highly unlikely and too complicated.

    Like

  22. Cat says:

    Oh no, I didn’t mean that and I’m sure back then you weren’t on my facebook. I was just wondering why it was different. Hell, you could call yourself Mickey Mouse if you wanted!

    So, every Sikh has one surname they use? /confused.

    Like

  23. ish says:

    Yeah, whenever some person uses “Singh” after their name, that means they are a Sikh. Hindu’s mostly use “Kumar” and then their actual surname.

    Like

  24. Cat says:

    Hmmm, I always just thought that’s common names, like Smith, Jones, etc. So why change it from your normal names?

    Like

  25. ish says:

    What exactly are common names? Maybe they’re the same thing.

    Like

  26. Cat says:

    Well, what I mean and I think what confuses me with you is that if I have a name it’s in my passport, etc. Whereas you just pick a name yet still have your other name?

    Like

  27. ish says:

    Okay, delete this comment after you’ve read it alright?

    [deleted the rest per Ish’s instructions]

    Like

  28. Cat says:

    That makes sense. I guess it just seems strange, because no one in Germany/UK does it.

    And I’ve noticed now that there are loads of people called Kumar. Guess I never paid much attention to it!

    Like

Want to leave me a lovely comment? Please do!