Music I listened to in 2016

2016 over the months

2016 over the months

carocat-last-fm-listening-history

Listening history over the years

I didn’t listen to music for a lot of 2016 and it’s only towards the end that I really picked it up again. Last.fm recorded a conflicting number – on one screen it’s 1200 and another 1069, but it’s a huge difference to previous years.

In addition to that are probably about the same amount that I couldn’t have scrobbled as it doesn’t seem to work from my phone’s player.

Most of the music I listened to came from soundtracks:

  • Lord of the Rings
  • The Hobbit
  • Star Wars
  • Star Wars – The Force Awakens
  • Game of Thrones [never really listened much to it before]
  • Westworld [new]
  • Downton Abbey
  • Dragon Age

Other music included Norah Jones [didn’t realise she had released a new [to me] album!], the songs from the TV show Nashville [pretty much the only country music I have ever listened to as I hadn’t much come across the genre before] and random playlists.

A year ago I would have said my favourite soundtrack composer is a toss-up between Howard Shore and John Williams, however, Ramin Djawadi has joined them above Klaus Badelt and Alexandre Desplat. My favourite new songs this year all came from Game of Thrones or Westworld:

  • Light Of The Seven – the wonderful piano piece from the season 6 Game of Thrones finale.
  • Paint It, Black – Westworld.
  • Black Hole Sun – Westworld.
  • King Of The North – Game of Thrones.
  • My Watch Has Ended – Game of Thrones.

2017 promises more Game of Thrones music and another John Williams scored Star Wars release. Despite having listened to the Rogue One soundtrack a lot, I still can’t warm to it even though I like Giacchino’s music usually, such as Lost.

This entry was posted in Game of Thrones, John Williams, Lord of the Rings, Music, Soundtrack, Star Wars. Bookmark the permalink.

Want to leave me a lovely comment? Please do!